top of page

What is an “Expat?”


As an international living abroad I am often drawn to other international groups or people who have also taken the leap to live in another country. Many people use different titles when introducing their status to new acquaintances, and some of these may be along the simple lines of "international," "American," European," "Australian," "living abroad," "studying abroad," etcetera. You get the idea. I have also run into some individuals (a small few to be true) who refer to themselves as "expats."


"Expat," as you may well be aware, stands for "expatriate." This comes from the Latin word "expatriatus," (ex- out of) (patria-homeland) meaning to leave one's fatherland. However, it was used during the Medieval Latin times to describe someone who was more than likely banished from their country of origin. In modern times the term has been altered to simply describe a person no longer living in the country of their birth/childhood.


You may be thinking "oh that term applies to me then," and you may not be wrong. I thought the same thing after hearing some individual's descriptions of the word. However, I have never referred to myself as an "expat," and I personally don't plan to do so.

I wonder if you all have opinions on the use of this term? Who would you consider an "expat," and would you ever call yourself an "expat?" I am not looking to be political or picky, but I am genuinely interested.


Let me know what you think!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page