top of page

Travel Budget: Working Abroad



I've always been a big fan of volunteer work and finding crafty jobs to stay busy no matter where I find myself living. However, finding the motivation to have a steady job abroad (when all you really want to do is travel and explore) can sometimes prove difficult. Not to mention, applying and being accepted for a job in another country isn't always a walk in the park.


When I first moved to Ireland I was a graduate student in a one year master's program. That meant that my finances were under control for that year. The curve ball came when I decided to continue living abroad after this year was completed. I found myself in need of a job, but I still wanted to travel and keep up with my adventurous lifestyle that I had developed.


First step: create a resume for the country you are job hunting in. I moved from the United States to Ireland, and the criteria for resumes is pretty different. It is well worth doing your research and rewriting your resume before applying. Companies will most definitely take note if you were too lazy to change it. P.s. Check your visa and be sure if you're allowed to work full-time or should opt for part-time work.


Second step: prepare yourself mentally. I hate to say it, but I did run into discrimination during my job search. I applied to 12 (yes, that's a dozen!) places before I found a job that suited my requirements and wanted me to work for them. Half of those places stated as their reason for not hiring me: "we don't hire internationals," or even worse "we don't hire Americans." I never even considered being discriminated against in this situation (especially since it's illegal), but at the same time all you can do is smile, say "thank you for your consideration," and keep applying to more accepting places. (Just a side comment, I don't hold this discrimination against these companies. It must be difficult to hire internationals who may become homesick and leave or have a different reason. No matter the reason, just keep smiling and beat the odds!)


Third step: apply! My suggestion is to just apply as many places as possible. It took weeks for me to get replies from some of the larger companies, but I wasn't about to just sit back and wait to be hired or rejected. Get your name out there. Tell friends and peers that you're on the hunt and ask for recommendations. Also try online job hunting sites, they're great for sending out multiple applications within the same day.


Fourth step: decisions, decisions. I had several criteria for my future job. I still wanted to travel, I wanted flexible hours, close to my apartment, and be able to use the skills I acquired in my masters program. After deciding on all of these criteria it was a pretty simple process. I finally found the perfect job and have been working there since! (Remember it's good to choose a long term job since multiple short term jobs don't reflect well on a resume.)


Now that I have a steady job to pay the bills and have enjoyed my freedom I'm starting to look into other forms of income to allow for more travel (and to be honest, clothes shopping). To do so I've been looking into online ESL teaching platforms such as vipkid. I'll keep you updated on my research, but it's important to remember that not one way of income is right for everyone, and if you're like me, then your first priority might be freedom instead of riches. Decide what's best for you and you'll be a working international in no time!


As always, feel free to ask questions or leave insights!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page